Absolute Music: Shostakovich

5 March 2018 - 7:45pm

Simon Russell Beale’s series inspired by classic works of chamber music continues with an evening focused on Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 8 and the composer’s fraught relationship with Stalin and the Soviet authorities.  A collection of poems and short dramatic readings accompany a performance by the acclaimed Carducci Quartet of this masterpiece, written following Shostakovich’s agonised decision to join the Communist party and dedicated “to the victims of fascism and the war”.

Tickets: £25 & £20

Running Time: 70 mins (approx)

Book Now